Speaker

Larry Smith

Building a winning team, management of change, sale philosophy, strategic vision,why are we here.
Information request

Senator, speaker, motivator, motivation conference

Larry Smith was appointed by Prime Minister Stephen Harper to the Senate of Canada in December 2010 and sits currently as a senator. He is also a partner with Westmount Moving and Storage, the #.1 agent for North American Van Line in Canada. Larry was also the President of the CFL Montreal Alouettes for 12 years and is credited with reviving profesional football in Montreal. From 2002-2004, he was president and publisher of the Montreal Gazette.

From 1997 to 2001, Mr. Smith held the position of President and Chief Executive Officer for the Montreal Alouettes after having completed his term of five years acting as Commissioner of the Canadian Football League. He worked to revive the tradition of football in Montreal and in the Province of Quebec. His intensive work earned him several honors including the nomination, in 1998, as Sports Personality of the Year at the Quebec Sports Gala. Mr. Smith was named “Marketer of the Year” in 1999 by the International Association of Professional Communicators (Montreal) and received the Accomplishment Award from the 2000 Marketing Personality Gala.

Born in Montreal, Mr. Smith played nine seasons as running back for the Alouettes between 1972 and 1980, after he was drafted first overall in the 1972 college draft. He played in 140 consecutive regular season games, 13 playoff games and five Grey Cup games, winning the trophy twice.

Mr. Smith began his business career with positions in sales, marketing and human resources. In 1983, he joined Industrial Life Technical Services as general manager of the Montreal branch. In 1984, he took over the Multi-Products Division and in 1985, he became the senior vice-president of the Central Region. Between 1985 and 1991, he held several executive positions with various divisions of John Labatt Ltd., the most recent being President of the Frozen Bakery Division of Ogilvie Mills Ltd.

He attended Bishop’s University, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Business in 1972.

Law degree from McGill University. He served as President, Bishop’s Alumni Association and is a member of the Corporation of Bishop’s University Board of Governors.

Larry and his wife have three children: Wesley, Ashley and Bradley.

Company's who have used his services:

  • Valeurs Mobilières Desjardins
  • Labatt
  • Bell
  • General Motors

Conférencier

Larry Smith

Sénateur, ancien président des Alouettes de Montréal et conférencier professionnel.
demande d'information

Sénateur, homme d'affaires, conférencier professionnel.

Larry Smith a été nommé au Sénat par le premier ministre du Canada, M. Stephen Harper, en décembre 2010. Il siège actuellement en tant que sénateur. Il est également un  associé dans  la compagnie Déménagement Westmount, agent #.1 pour NORTH AMERICAN VAN LINES du Canada. Larry a aussi été président et chef de la direction des Alouettes de Montréal de la CFL, la ligue Canadienne de Football, pendant 12 ans et a été reconnu pour faire  revivre le football professionnel à Montréal. De 2002 à 2004, il a aussi été président et éditeur de The Gazette.

Larry Smith a occupé le poste de commissaire de la Ligue canadienne de football pendant 5 ans où il a travaillé avec acharnement afin de faire renaître la tradition du football à Montréal et au Québec. Son intensité au travail lui a valu plusieurs honneurs dont la nomination, en 1998, de personnalité sportive de l'année dans le cadre du Gala du mérite sportif québécois. Monsieur Smith a également été nommé « Communicateur de l'année » par l'association des professionnels en communication (Montréal) en 1999 et a reçu le Prix hommage lors du Gala de la personnalité marketing 2000.

Monsieur Smith a évolué pendant neuf saisons comme centre arrière pour les Alouettes de 1972 à 1980, après avoir été choisi au tout premier rang du repêchage universitaire de 1972. Il a participé à 140 parties régulières consécutives, 13 rencontres éliminatoires et cinq finales de la Coupe Grey, l'emportant à deux reprises.

Monsieur Smith a débuté sa carrière dans le domaine des affaires en occupant diverses fonctions au niveau des ventes, de la promotion et des ressources humaines. En 1983, il s'est joint à la firme de services techniques Industrial Life à titre de directeur général de la succursale montréalaise. En 1984, il accédait à la division des produits multiples et devenait, en 1985, premier vice-président de la Région centrale. De 1985 à 1991, il a occupé des postes de direction au niveau des ventes chez John Labatt Ltée, chez Catelli et Ogilvie Mills. Dans chacun des postes qu'il a occupés, les ventes ont connu des changements majeurs et une croissance phénoménale.

Une brève liste des entreprises qui ont utilisé ses services :

  • Valeurs Mobilières Desjardins
  • Labatt
  • Bell
  • General Motors