Speaker

Guillaume Lavoie

Entrepreneur, public policy expert, professional speaker
Information request

An outstanding and passionate speaker, Guillaume Lavoie offers accessible, captivating and connected lectures on today's organizational challenges.  

 

Guillaume Lavoie is a public policy entrepreneur, a lecturer, and a professional speaker with keen interest in urban affairs, bikenomics, analytical design, the sharing economy and the role of urban art. 

 

An expert on the collaborative economy and its impacts on public policies, Guillaume advises public and private organizations, and was invited to give over 200 presentations, on this topic, at home and abroad. The author of Canada’s first city by-law on the sharing of private spaces, he also developed the country’s first university course on the collaborative economy and public policy, which he teaches at the National School of Public Administration (ÉNAP). In January 2018, he was appointed president of the Quebec Government working group on the collaborative economy.

 

Convinced of potential of data visualization for better policymaking, he is a senior consultant at Voilà Information Design, where he works with both private and public organizations, notably on improving the presentation of data and budgetary information.

 

An engaged social entrepreneur, he is the co-founder of the Collège néo-classique, which offers several courses in rhetoric. Guillaume has also given rhetoric training to business leaders and decisionmakers since 2013.

 

Having lived and worked on three continents, he has been a consultant in public policy for the public, private, and non-profit sectors at home and abroad. He has worked in public diplomacy and international relations, and more recently, as a city councillor in Montreal, in urban affairs, and since, on issues pertaining to the collaborative economy.


A member of the Raoul-Dandurand Chair in Diplomatic and Strategic studies and a veteran election observer, Guillaume Lavoie has been a frequent a media analyst on public policy, US politics and international relations. 


Guillaume holds an MPA (Énap), a B.A. in industrial relations and certificates in administration, and law (Laval University). In addition, he completed executive programs at the London School of Economics and the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. A Public Policy Scholar at Woodrow Wilson Center, Guillaume is also a Fellow of Action Canada, the Jeanne-Sauvé Foundation, and Next City, and a laureate of the Public Policy Forum's Marcel Côté Award for leadership in public policy. He is fluent in French, English and Spanish. 

 

Guillaume is a proud son of the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region in rural Quebec.

#Véloconomie – #JeudiÉcoCollab – #VendrediArtUrbain – #LectureDominicale

 

POSSIBLE TITLE OF CONFERENCES

The Collaborative Economy Fundamental changes for our society

( …and our governments) 
( …and our cities)
( …and our businesses)

… or “Much more than Uber and Airbnb”

… or “How to do more, with what is already there!”

The collaborative (or sharing) economy is not a fad, but an irreversible societal phenomenon. It impacts (or will impact) all spheres of activity: social, economic, and political. It transforms the way markets work, relations between individuals, employment status, and taxation policy. And so, inevitably, the very role of government, at all levels. It upsets the established order. It creates new customers ... and new competitors!

Its fundamentals tend towards a world that is more productive, more sustainable, and more entrepreneurial. In order to achieve this, it is crucial to draw up new rules for protecting and regulating these practices. Regulate in order to better permit. The challenge is huge. 

For businesses, it means rethinking their operations, the competition, and possibly their business models. The regulatory framework is bound to change as well. For governments, such as cities, it means reviewing both regulations (permits, zoning, urban planning, inspections, etc.) as well as operations (procurement, vehicles fleet, citizens services, etc.)

The barriers we face are no longer technological, but cultural and institutional. The world of tomorrow will belong to those societies — and businesses — that are the first to better understand this phenomenon and its fundamental nature, and to conceive a new framework enabling both protection and prosperity.

In this accessible and captivating conference, see what is this "Sharing Economy”. Discover why Uber and Airbnb are just the tip of the iceberg. Learn how the collaborative economy will profoundly impact your sector and the very role of your organization. See how organizations and governments can best navigate and succeed in this “Back-to-the-Future” revolution.

 

For numbers that speak… correctly

Helping decision making and communicating better with data visualization

Data plays an increasing role in decision-making. Technology development and refinements of management science mean that it becomes more commonly used. There is more pressure than ever on managers and decision makers to know how to read and communicate massive amounts of data. What tools are available to them? 

Visualizing data in graphs and tables is one of the foremost instruments for the understanding and interpretation of numbers. As such, the necessity of visualization has 

reached all aspects of management yet each and every one has to improvise based on minimal skills, other than some technical training on the use of specific software. 

This training fills this gap by presenting good practices of data visualization that lead to graphs that are honest, clear, helpful and efficient. This training presents general principles applicable to all data visualization tools. 

The material is based on what science teaches us about the surprising skills of the eyes and human brain to identify patterns, variations, outliers and trends at a glance. The training material is filled with real world examples taken from management settings or public and media communications with graphs. 

Amongst others, we will see: 

• Why we avoid pie charts. 

• What type of graph can solve almost half your data visualization problems. 

• How a graph can do part of your analysis for you. 

• How the topic, message and audience can influence the design of your graphs. 

At the end of the training, participants will be able to create better analysis and communication tools. 

 

How to be more convincing

A journey to understand and use the “Irrational” science of arguments

To speak in public, to communicate, to make a speech, to publish an open letter ... Is it to seduce, to manipulate, to convince, to believe, to inform? Of all this at once? From Plato and Aristotle ... to modern election campaigns ... to the success of new business models, the formula has not changed, the rhetoric remains.

Although less well known today, it's far from rocket science. Rhetoric refers to a universal matrix that aims to understand what is at stake when the "one" communicates with the "other".

This accessible and captivating conference offers the discovery of universal - and concrete - tools to make your presentations, both oral and written, more effective and convincing.

Conférencier

Guillaume Lavoie

Entrepreneur, expert en politiques publiques et conférencier
demande d'information

Entrepreneur, expert en politiques publiques et conférencier

Vulgarisateur exceptionnel et orateur passionné, Guillaume Lavoie offre des conférences accessibles, captivantes et connectées sur les défis organisationnels d’aujourd’hui.  

Entrepreneur en politiques publiques, chargé de cours et conférencier, Guillaume Lavoie s'intéresse aux affaires urbaines, à la véloconomie, au design analytique, à l'économie collaborative et au rôle de l'art urbain.

L'un des experts les plus en vue sur l'économie collaborative, Guillaume a présenté 250+ conférences sur ce thème, au Canada et à l'étranger. Il a également développé le premier cours au Canada sur l'économie collaborative et les politiques publiques, qu'il enseigne à l'École nationale d'administration publique (ÉNAP). Il est l'auteur du premier règlement municipal au Canada sur le partage des espaces privés. En janvier 2018, il a été nommé président du Groupe de travail sur l'économie collaborative du Gouvernement du Québec.

Conseiller sénior chez Voilà Information Design, une firme spécialisée en design analytique et visualisation de données, il est à l’origine d’une importante réforme sur la présentation et la transparence budgétaire dans le monde municipal. Il aide les organisations publiques et privées à créer de meilleurs outils d’analyse et de communication avec leurs données. 

Chargé de cours à l'ÉNAP, il est membre de la Chaire Raoul-Dandurand et observateur électoral international. Entrepreneur social engagé, il est fondateur de Mission Leadership Québec et cofondateur du Collège néo-classique, lequel offre plusieurs formations en rhétorique. Guillaume donne également des formations en rhétorique aux gens d’affaires depuis 2013.


Préalablement, Guillaume a fait carrière en diplomatie publique, en relations internationales, et plus récemment, comme conseiller municipal à Montréal, en affaires urbaines. Ayant vécu et travaillé à l'étranger et visité une quarantaine de pays, il a été consultant auprès des secteurs public, privé et associatif, au Canada et à l'international. Vulgarisateur de talent, il compte une vaste expérience comme analyste dans les médias. 


Guillaume détient une MPA (Énap), un B.A. en relations industrielles et des certificats en administration, et en droit (Université Laval). Il a également complété des formations exécutives au LSE et au Harvard Kennedy School of Government. Nommé Public Policy Scholar au Woodrow Wilson Center, Guillaume est notamment fellow de Action Canada, de la Fondation Jeanne-Sauvé, de Next City, et lauréat du Prix Marcel-Côté pour le leadership en politiques publiques. Il parle couramment français, anglais et espagnol.

Guillaume est fils de la région du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean.

#Véloconomie – #JeudiÉcoCollab – #VendrediArtUrbain – #LectureDominicale

 

CONFÉRENCES POSSIBLES

 

L’économie collaborative : Des fondamentaux qui transforment nos sociétés

( …et nos gouvernements
( …et nos villes)
( …et nos entreprises)

… ou « Bien plus que Uber et les taxis ! »

… ou « Comment faire plus avec ce qui existe déjà ! »

L’économie collaborative (ou du partage) n’est pas une mode, c’est un phénomène de société irréversible.

Elle affecte (ou affectera) toutes les sphères d’activités: sociale, économique et politique. Tous les ministères et toutes les entreprises. Elle transforme le fonctionnement des marchés, les rapports entre les individus, l’emploi et le rôle des gouvernements. Elle chamboule l’ordre établi. Elle est créatrice de nouveaux clients… et de nouveaux concurrents !

Ses fondamentaux tendent vers un monde plus productif, plus durable et plus entrepreneurial. Pour ce faire, il faut également dessiner de nouvelles règles pour protéger l’intérêt général et encadrer les pratiques. Encadrer afin de mieux permettre. Le défi est énorme. Cela dit, nos barrières et nos limites ne sont plus technologiques, elles sont culturelles et institutionnelles.

Pour les entreprises, cela veut dire repenser les fondements des opérations (approvisionnement, utilisation des équipements et des espaces, etc.), ou encore du concept de concurrence. Le cadre règlementaire que vous connaissez est, lui aussi, appelé à changer profondément. Pour les institutions publiques, dont les villes, cela veut dire, en plus, de revoir l’approche règlementaire. 

En somme, le monde de demain appartiendra aux sociétés — et aux entreprises et institutions publiques — qui les premières seront mieux à mêmes de comprendre le phénomène et ses fondamentaux, et de concevoir un cadre nouveau de protection et de prospérité.

Cette conférence, accessible et captivante vous permettra de découvrir le portrait d’une petite révolution du futur… qui semblerait pourtant bien familière à nos grands-parents.

 

Des chiffres qui parlent... correctement

Éclairer la décision et mieux communiquer par la visualisation de données

Les données sont au coeur de la prise de décision. Elles se multiplient au gré des avancements technologiques et du raffinement de la science de la gestion. La pression sur les décideurs est plus grande que jamais de savoir interpréter et communiquer cette masse de chiffres. 

Quels sont les outils à leur disposition?

La visualisation de données en graphiques et tableaux est un des premiers instruments de lecture et d’interprétation des chiffres. L’obligation de les visualiser a ainsi rejoint toutes les sphères de la gestion et tout un chacun a dû s’improviser spécialiste, souvent sans formation 

autre que technique sur un logiciel en particulier. 

La présente formation vient combler cette carence en présentant les bonnes pratiques de la visualisation de données afin de reconnaître et de produire des graphiques honnêtes, clairs, aidants et efficients. Cette formation est aux graphiques ce qu’un cours de rédaction est à l’écriture, présentant de grands principes applicables à tous les outils de visualisation. 

Le matériel se base sur ce que la science nous a appris sur la capacité étonnante de l’oeil et du cerveau humains à identifier des motifs, des variations, des exceptions et des tendances en un coup d’oeil. La formation regorge d’exemples concrets tirés de situation de gestion ou de communications publiques et médiatiques à l’aide de graphiques. 

Nous y voyons entre autres: 

• Pourquoi on évite les pointes de tartes.
• Quel type de graphique peut régler près de la moitié de vos problèmes de visualisation. 

• Comment un graphique peut faire une partie de votre travail d’analyse.
• Comment le sujet, le message et le public peuvent influencer le design d’un graphique. 

 

À la fin de la formation, les participants seront en mesure de créer de meilleurs outils d’analyse et de communication.

 

Communiquer pour convaincre: Aristote comme directeur des ventes !

En politique comme en affaires, si t’es pas cru… t’es cuit !

Parler en public, « communiquer », faire un discours, publier une lettre ouverte… S’agit-il de séduire, de manipuler, de convaincre, de faire croire, d’informer? De tout cela à la fois ? De Platon et Aristote… aux campagnes électorales modernes… aux succès des nouveaux modèles d’affaires, la formule n’a pas changé, la rhétorique demeure.

Bien que moins connue aujourd’hui, tout cela est loin d’être sorcier. La rhétorique renvoie à une matrice universelle qui vise à comprendre ce qui est en jeu lorsque l’ « un » communique avec l’ « autre ».

Cette conférence, accessible et captivante, offre la découverte de trucs universels – et concrets – afin de rendre vos présentations, orales et écrites, plus efficaces et plus convaincantes